“If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything” – Mark Twain

Honesty…. I was thinking about this today. How many of us are honest. Not only to others, but to ourselves. We tell little white lies to protect the innocent. We might steal a few jelly beans from the bin at the store. We tell ourselves we aren’t hurting anyone whats the big deal.I think dishonesty is like drugs, you have your gateway drugs like alchohol, and weed. Then you got your big ones like heroin, and cocaine. When you start being dishonest it gives you practice for the real big things like say cheating on a test, or even worse your wife. I endeavor to be honest in all my dealings, and behavior. Well you say should I tell someone they look like shit, no being honest does not mean being an asshole. Also being honest frees you from having to keep track of all your lies. I don’t know how some people do that. 

The hardest part for me is to be honest with myself. I have to know when I am deluding myself, like when I get drunk I may tell myself “I’m just blowing off steam”, or “I’m just having a good time”. How does one work on being honest with themselves?

 Here’s wikipedia’s take on honesty…

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honesty

A religous take on honesty…

http://parentalguide.com/Documents/Bible_Studies/Honesty.htm

2 Responses to ““If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything” – Mark Twain”

  1. Good questions, River. I bullshit myself like it’s my job, and when I have to face the facts, I’m not happy about it.

  2. Well said Riv. Life is so much easier with everything out in the open. I’ve seen people lie so much that after a while they no longer know when they are doing it.

Leave a Reply

