Remembering those who passed

I will be wrapping up this morose section of the blog, but I think it’s important to remember the people that touched our lives, for it makes up who we are.

There was a friend of mine that worked with me, named Sylvia Chavez. Her death affected me deeply.  I remember the first time I met her. I was a student worker for the IT dept at Governors State University at the time. I came in to her office, first words out of her mouth, “Better not fuck up my machine, or I swear I’ll stab you.” Yeah talk about making a guy nervous. I was actually scared of her. Over time we became good friends, we were there for each other through some bad times. She was there for me when it was my last day at GSU when they laid me off.

She was such a good person, and her death was truly tragic. She called me, “Hey get your ass up to JWH, I’m up here, your not.” Sylvia lived in Park Forest, so it was rare she came to my neck of the woods, if I didn’t come out she might actually rip my balls out. So I went up there, and Sylvia was just a bundle of energy, dancing, drinking having fun. So full of life. I had to get up early, so I left a little early. I asked Sylvia, “Sylvia, are you ok to drive?” She said yes. I asked again. She said yes.

The next day I get a call,  Sylvia got into an accident, she wasn’t going to live throughout the day. I rushed to the hospital. I was one of the last people to see her, I was also there for her in the end.  The story goes on the way coming home from JWH, they think she tried to avoid a deer. No one really knows for sure what happened though.

I blame myself for her death. I should of picked her up and carried her home. I should of done something more. I miss her alot though.

There’s some more people I miss dearly, I don’t want to say their deaths didn’t affect me, because they did. I just had less a part to play in their lives, or theirs nothing I could do literally.

My grandparents.

Branko “Jedo” Marsenic – My Grandfather, The toughest guy I know. He taught me alot, and I try not to forget my Serbian roots because of him. Where’s the Shlivo?

Vera Marsenic – My Grandmother, A stern woman, but tough as well.  We weren’t that close, but I loved her.

Al Cavelle – My Grandfather, He was the first funeral I went to. I didn’t really know him all that well. I wish I did though. He was a typical Italian, always wearing his red robe, smoking a cigar.

Peter “Sunsi” Marsenic – Sunsi or however you spell it was Serbian for “Sunshine”. Little Petey died when he was driving some friends, he lost control of the car. He was like a brother to me, and there was a hole in my family ever since he left.

James Rogers – My best friends father. He was a good man, and always made me laugh.

Well thanks for taking the time to remember those who were important to me.  Like I said this Halloween season take a few minutes and remember those who have passed, that have effected your life.

3 Responses to “Remembering those who passed”

  1. Chris, I remember Sylvia and I agree that she was a good person. I’m sorry she is no longer with us.

  2. Aw, you big sweetie. I think that’s a lovely memorial for your friends and family. I’m sure they loved you as much as you loved them.

    I strongly believe there is no way to save a person from his or her fate, but I also believe just as much that we can always learn lessons from the things that break our hearts.

  3. WHITE CHOCOLATE Says:

    i agree with nora. i loved Bronko he was the shit. rip

Leave a Reply

