The Future of Antivirus.

Well thats where I was yesterday at a Seminar hosted by Symantec, ya know the makers of Norton Antivirus.  Learning all sorts of things about the future of Antivirus, and Endpoint Security, plus getting free pizza.I’m sure everyone here is just dying to learn about how to whitelist applications, or how Altiris CMDB makes asset management so much more easier.  Alas this blog is just way to short on time to elaborate on all the intricacies of such endeavors, so I must digress.

One thing I want to touch on is that I promised myself to quit drinking so much, and try to stay away from the bars. The crux of the problem is that my friends have too many functions that involve drinking.  Sure I can probably attend the event, or function and drink diet cokes, but then the reaction is usually not a bad one but a let down.  I know I’m like that, when someone I know isn’t drinking. I’m let down a little.  How do I cut out the drinking, and not offend anyone.  It’s a dilemma I’m sure. Then again I know in 2010 I most likely will be moving back north, so maybe I will just enjoy my time with my friends while I still can.  It just brings me down a little that I’m so ensconced with this culture of drinking. Do my friends and me do anything that ever doesn’t involve drinking, I don’t think so.  Sometimes I wonder if the booze wasn’t there, would my friends be there?

6 Responses to “The Future of Antivirus.”

  1. I understand where you are coming from. From my experience, most people are exactly the same way too. I’ll admit, it is a little disappointing to go out with a group of people and have some of them not drink. If you are having a good time and they are too, then what difference does it really make though? Sometimes I’m the one drinking and sometimes I’m the one abstaining. Last night, I went to pint night with some friends at one of my favorite establishments and didn’t have one drop of alcohol. Its not really an issue. I think a lot of it depends on your group of people you are hanging with. Do they go all out as well? If you choose to go out not drink, would you receive a rash of shit about it?

  2. I understand your point Riv. Believe it or not, there are times that I go out and don’t drink, but during those times I get teased and have people push shots on me. I’ll admit, that when I’m the one drinking I do the same thing to others. It’s not meant to be mean, it’s just something that happens.

    I do go out and do other things with friends that don’t involve drinking. Going to the movies or out for dinner or lunch are a few of those things. But I’ll admit they are few and far between. I have also had the same concerns as you. Maybe we can try to get a group together for a non-drinking outing. I don’t know if it will work, but it’s worth a try.

    Where are you moving up north? This is the first I’m hearing about this. What’s going on?

  3. In 2010, my company is being bought out. 1 of 4 things might happen. The new company is opening a new place up north supposedly, I might have to go to Indianapolis, or I might no longer be with the company, which in case I will have to find a new job. Sadly most jobs are up north of Chicago.

    Since I am mobile, I will be getting a apt near these jobs. I can’t stand long commutes, been there, done that, aint doing it again.

    The fourth thing that could happen is I stay put, but i don’t see that happening.

  4. Well, do me a favor. PLEASE don’t move to Indiana. I really don’t want to have to tell people that one of my good friends is a Hoosier. If you do end up moving (which I hope you don’t) could you make it a cool place to visit. Oh yeah, and don’t get any cats because I am allergic and can’t come and see you then! 🙂 I don’t think I’m asking too much, do you??? LOL

  5. First and foremost, I’m a whore. If they pay me enough I’ll move to the North Pole, and wear a polar bear suit. So if they make an offer, and it meets my salary requirements to be a Hoosier…well guess what, I’m going to buy a Colt jersey.

    Second, no cats ever, I’m highly allergic as well.

  6. WHITE CHOCOLATE Says:

    IF I SEE U WEARING THAT FAGGOT BLUE I WILL KILL U. LOL!

Leave a Reply

