Why do bad things happen to good people.

There’s a girl I met many years ago, I’ll call her Kiddo.  I met Kiddo while working at the Blue Iguana.  She used to sing Karoake, and unlike the rest of  the drunken sludge of humanity.  She sang like a professional, and she would bring a smile to my face. I told myself I’m going to get to know this girl better. Over the years I did. Me and her had some fun times, and some bad ones too. Even the bad times bring a little smile to my face to remember what big idiots we were sometimes.   I watched her grow from a girl into a fine young woman. It kills me I won’t be seeing  her get married (I got a free trip to Florida that weekend)  Her fiancee is just like her, fun, friendly, and just a good guy.

Over the years I had the pleasure of meeting her whole family. Her Sister, Milkbone, the biggest smartass I know, but that tough exterior doesn’t mean crap to me. i know deep down that she’s just uses it to hide a huge heart.  Kiddo’s father, this guy is salt of the earth, he would give you the shirt off his back if I asked.  Lastly but not least Kiddo’s Mom, she always made me laugh, always had a smile on her face, always made me feel at home. 

Kiddo’s mom is sick, very sick. The whole family is hurting. These people are such good people, it breaks my heart. To see them go through this.  There are no words I can say to ease their pain. The only thing they have is hope, faith, and love.  3 most powerful forces on this earth.

Though I am not a religous man, I bowed my head and prayed the Lord would ease their pain, to see Kiddo’s mom through this trial safely, and hope he hears the prayers of one such as I .

P.S. The only reason I think Kiddo is getting married, is cause she sucks at Rummy, and wanted to bring in a Ringer…there I said it. Now what?

2 Responses to “Why do bad things happen to good people.”

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend’s family. I hope things get better for them.

  2. white chocolate Says:

    my prayers go out to her family.
    Father of goodness and love, hear our prayers for the sick members of our community and for all who are in need. Amid mental and physical suffering may they find consolation in your healing presence. Show your mercy as you close wounds, cure illness, make broken bodies whole and free downcast spirits. May these special people find lasting health and deliverance, and so join us in thanking you for all your gifts. We ask this through the Lord Jesus who healed those who believed. Amen.

Leave a Reply

