Just Call me Neo….Whoa

neo-dodging-bulletsSo I messed up at work, kinda sorta. I am in charge of backups, and ever since the power outage last week on my job there was a problem with them. I really wasn’t paying to close attention, because I had 8 million other things going on.  So I checked 2 days ago…whoa. They weren’t being done. So as I was working to resolve the issue, another server conked out, and there was no backup.

The server really didn’t conk out, but effectively everyone was locked out of it, so no one, and I mean no one could get into the server, and more importantly to the data. This is not my fault, because if I had the local administrator account, it would of been simple. Unfortunately the server is so old, that no one around here has the local account info…that is my bosses fault.  

I had an older backup from the 4/4/09, which would of lost about a weeks worth of data….not good. Not good at all.

So after working on it for a day and a half, and nearly giving up and accepting my fate. A thought occured to me like a thunderbolt. I was able to hack into our own server.  Get the data we needed.

Even though I’ll make sure this doesn’t happen again, it’s my first major fuckup on the job in quite some time. Though I got the data, and this will blow over with everyone else quite well. I still beat myself up pretty hard.

This weekend though, I’m so relieved that I dodged a bullet. I’m so getting drunk.

10 Responses to “Just Call me Neo….Whoa”

  1. When you’re ready you wont have to.

  2. theeriver Says:

    Thank you Morpheus!

  3. It’s kind of strange how you and Mike know what the other one is talking about. Maybe you guys were meant for one another. It’s kind of romantic when you think about it.

    I’m sorry you had a bad week at work Riv, but I’m glad you managed to save the day. Good job, my friend!

    You better be ready for drinkin’. My birthday only comes once a year and we all know how I like to make it a national holiday. Narcissistic maybe, fun ALWAYS. You will be so sad you didn’t get one of the t-shirts when you see them. 🙂

  4. Let me get this straight, you made t-shirts for people to wear that commemorates your birthday? If that is the case, its not a maybe. You are a narcissist.

  5. PWNED!!!!

  6. hahaha… it’s for my Birthday Bar Crawl. They don’t just say Happy Birthday Sherry! LOL

    I think of it as a creative way to advertise the various businesses on Oak Park Avenue. I am doing the economy a favor. So bite me. 😛

    And River… you might want to use spell check. Douchebag.

  7. theerivs Says:

    Pwned, or pwnage is called leetspeak. It’s like ebonics for geeks.

    Pwned is a combination of two words. Purely Owned. Pwned. Meaning to dominate. Read more hear.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pwn

    Think leetspeak is stupid, you use it now when you text. Thanks to geeks, we make your texting live easier, like LOL! .

    Your welcome.

  8. Zomgwtfbbqpwned!

  9. I’m sure you meant to type… Read more HERE. Not HEAR. …Point Sherry. 🙂

  10. Oh yeah, and instead of YOUR welcome, I’m sure you meant to type YOU’RE welcome. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

