Woody Allen said “Eighty percent of success is showing up”

It’s the other 20 percent, I’m freaking out about.

When it comes to computers, I am no slouch. I realize, I don’t know everything, but I pick things up quickly, sometimes intuitively because I am very logical, and understand the underlying things that make computers tick.  I call myself a computer idiot savant, cause I know how to fix things sometimes, and I know not how I know.  Computers, and my job are a short list of what I take seriously in life. When I use to work FTD, I use to travel all over America.  I use to just go to the job, and the hotel thats it. I had to make it a point to do something fun, because I am all about the job. I hate doing side jobs, because I take so much pride in my work, failure is not an option. Things go wrong I take it personally.  At my current job, last year I had zero sick days, none. Computers to me is not just what I do, it’s who I am. My work defines me.

As I study for an upcoming Microsoft Test, it is undermining my confidence. The concepts, and things brought forward in these tests are stuff I rarely see in the day to day operations.  Some of the concepts like DNS stub zones, bridgehead servers, and alot of the certificate stuff is really throwing me for a loop.

I pushed it back once, cause I’m not that confident, I had to push it back one more day, because of work issues. That’s it though I can’t push it back anymore. I have to take this test Thursday, and if I pass it will be a minor miracle, no scratch that a major miracle. So much so I am thinking of just canceling it. Though it is a free test, and I hate to waste it. I got a free voucher from my school.

In reality, If I don’t pass, I would of just wasted my time, and a little money.  Though in my head, if I fail, it’s a blow to my ego. It tells me maybe I am not that good. It would sting alot.

Well first thing is first, I need to show up at the test. I’ll worry about the other 20 percent when I get there.

3 Responses to “Woody Allen said “Eighty percent of success is showing up””

  1. “I don’t believe it.”

    “That is why you fail.”

  2. theerivs Says:

    Thank you master Yoda.

  3. You will do fine. Stop being a pussy and take the damn test. 🙂 If you fail it, you fail it. It’s not the end of the world. You can always retake it if you want. One test doesn’t determine who you are. If you don’t take it, you are going to beat yourself up about that. You are a smart guy and you’ve worked hard for this. I really think you will do great. Good luck! Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

