Something ain’t right

Well if you follow my blog you know I’m helping my Handicapped Mom take care of my Stepdad who had a stroke several months ago. It seems like he’s getting worse, he’s weaker, he isn’t listening, confused a bit more. Worst then that it seems my Mom is cracking from the strain mentally. She’s mumbling to herself, complaining more, and she’s repeating herself alot. I wonder if my Mom bit off more then she can chew in terms of dealing with this stuff.

I have been taking command of the situation, in terms of getting things motivated, and waking them up when they have to get up. putting him to bed when he needs to go to bed, making sure my Mom stays on course with getting shit done.  It’s funny how life works, I lived my life avoiding responsibility, and now it lands dead center in my lap. Not that I am complaining, just observing the irony of life sometimes. Actually it hasn’t been bad, yes it’s physical work, yes it’s hard, and yes it sucks, but I try to stay upbeat and deal with it, for my Stepdad, and more for my Mom’s sake.

Alas I feel some hard choices may be coming up if he is getting weaker.

2009 has been a shitty year for alot of people I know, and I can’t wait to say goodbye to it.

One Response to “Something ain’t right”

  1. I’m with you on the saying goodbye to 2009 part.

Leave a comment