The Wolves of Life

Last night a friend of mine said to me, “Do you realise 75 % of our life is just waiting?”  This friend of mine broke my heart last night, because she is the one of the few people in my life always so positive, and upbeat. That coming from her was so morbid, and down. She is facing a rough time right now, so I can’t blame her.

One movie that had a profound effect on me was The Vikings, with Kirk Douglas, Tony Curtis, and Ernest Borgdnine. Ernest plays a Viking named Ragnar. Ragnar is taking captive by the English, and he is set to be thrown to the wolves. He asks for his sword, and looks at the English snarls, and then smiles at Tony Curtis, laughs and jumps into the pit of wolves…. screaming “Odin!”

I took this scene, and made it a metaphor for my life. The wolves of my life such as Pain, Misery, Loneliness, and many more beset me every day of my life, and they seemed like they were legion. There was a period of my life where I just waited for them to devour me, I almost wanted them too. To end my life fast and quick.

One day while in the mental hospital, after wanted to be devoured. I looked at the outside world in a moment of peace, I glared at it……I smiled, and then I laughed. Then I picked up my sword. The outside world are those english people, watching me. The wolves are my problems, and Tony Curtis are my friends and family who gave me my sword. Someone said, “That everyone dies, but few truly live”

We can choose to succumb to the wolves of our lives, devouring not our body, but our souls. Not I, I choose to fight. Who knows I might defeat some wolves, and I might be left standing with dead wolves surrounding me, or a wolf might finally get to me. I will not lay down, and let them, I will let the onlookers know that I will face their wolves and laugh. The wolves will fear me, instead of me fearing them. When my life is over the English will know that I lived, the wolves will know that I lived, The Gods will know that I lived.

I hear some wolves looking for me and my friends right now, come my friends let us pick up our swords, smile and laugh at the world….and jump in.

“OOODDDDDIIIINNN!!!!”

4 Responses to “The Wolves of Life”

  1. It is that 75% you get a chance to dream. A chance to find yourself. A chance to be thankful for the free time to wait, think, dream, find yourself, and live the best you can.

    Bring on the lines, I want to dream all the way

  2. White Chocalate Says:

    Alan: I’d like to…I’d like to say something…something I prepared. Tonight…

    Hello,

    How about that ride in? I guess that’s why they call it Sin City (hahaha)

    You guys may not know this, but I consider myself…a bit of a loner. I tend to think of myself as a one man wolf pack. But when my sister brought Doug home, I knew he was one of my own. And my wolf pack, it grew by one. So were two…so there was two of us in the pack. I…I was alone first in the pack, and then Doug joined in later.

    And 6 months ago, when Doug introduced me to you guys. I thought…wait a second, could it be. And now I know for sure, I just added 2 more guys to my wolf pack. 4 of us wolves running around the desert together, in Las Vegas looking for strippers and cocaine. So tonight, we make a toast!

  3. whitechocolate Says:

    it’s called a satchel. Indian Jones wears one.

Leave a Reply

