What? Are we fucking?

When a girl asks me what I’m doing, or where I am going, the usual response is “What? Are we fucking?”  From all accounts girls hate that reply. A girl recently called me to task on it. She asked me what I was doing the rest of the day, and I replied my usual reply, she then said, “For a person whose business is all displayed on Facebook, and the Internet. Why do you care if you tell me what you’re doing, when I’ll probably find out on Facebook later by your goofy pictures.”

I thought on this for a moment, and she was right. I am a pretty open person. So why the hell should I care if I tell women what I’m doing, or where I went.

I think it has to do with some factors.

1. I have control issues. – Women love to change a dude, that’s why they hook up with some of us. They love projects. A man has a relationship with a woman hoping she doesn’t change, a woman has a relationship with a man hoping he will change. Women see the potential in men. I on the hand feel I am the master of my own fate, so letting this woman know where and what I do, I feel it may give them some measure of control, like they will influence my decision somehow.

2. Remnants of an old me – I use to be not so open, and there is a part of me that is still very private. Also I get a defensive twinge when asked where/what I’m doing because back in the day when I was a degenerate gambler I would go to the boat, and when people asked me what I was doing I would pretty much tell them it was none of their business.

3. Conditioning – Since I could remember my brother would do this, “So what are you doing today? ” When I replied nothing, he would then ask him to do him a favor. So instead of answering peoples questions of what and where I’m going, I give either vague answers, or not answer at all.  So when people ask me what I’m doing, I kind of am not trusting of what they are going to ask me next.

4. Aggravation – Women in general are nosy creatures, and I like aggravating them. They want to know the where’s, the what’s, the how’s, and so on. I do love to aggravate.

This actual statement evolved, I use to say “What are you my girlfriend?” then over the years I’ve just grown to not care what leaves my mouth, but I do love the witty girls who reply to that statement something good, like “With that attitude we’re not gonna”  Those are the type of girls I like to hang around.

5 Responses to “What? Are we fucking?”

  1. It all just boils down to you always needing attention… whether it’s positive or negative attention, you are always looking for it. Honestly, when I ask you what you are doing I really don’t care. I just like to annoy you. 🙂

  2. Has it not occurred to you that the person asking is doing so because they might want to hang out with you at some point? Perhaps, they don’t have anything planned and are looking for something to do. Stop being such a dickhole Riv.

  3. Yeah Riv… stop being such a dickhole.

  4. “With that attitude we’re not gonna” — wouldn’t “yes” be a better response?? 🙂

    Dickhole.

    • theerivs Says:

      I don’t think I would ask the question, “Are we fucking?” if we were indeed fucking. My brain isn’t that saturated with booze.

Leave a Reply

