Sibling Rivalry

When I was in 8th grade, and my brother a Junior in High School, sometimes my parents would go out on the weekend. So my brother was left in charge. One night, around 11pm, he goes to me. “You got to get out of here.”  I replied, “What?”  He then goes into his little spiel, “Ok here’s the deal, my girlfriend is coming over, you have to leave for a while. I don’t give a shit where you go, but you gotta be back before 1am, and when the light is on it’s safe to come back.”  I was like, “But George, it’s the middle of the night all my friends are probably asleep.”  George said, “I don’t give a fuck, walk around the block 100 times, just get the fuck out”  I reply to this, “What’s in it for me?”  His response, ” I don’t beat the crap out of you.”  To which I replied, “Ok let me grab my hat.”

So after wandering the streets of Tinley Park for a few hours. I went to my friend Jimmy’s, he was asleep. I then walked to my friend Angelo’s, yea he was sleeping to. So I just wandered the streets of Timley from Mark 4 in Vogt Woods, to the Lions Pool, when it was about 1am, I would saunter home, the light was on. I crept in. My brother on the couch watching TV, he welcomed me home with a “Good job Homo!”

That was the first time this happened, but it wasn’t the last time. There were many times when I would be roaming the streets of Tinley in the dark hours of the night.  If my parents knew at the time he was doing that, I don’t think my brother would be alive to talk about it, but my parents should of know. To leave my brother in charge, was like putting a crackhead in charge of the crack house..your just inviting trouble.

6 Responses to “Sibling Rivalry”

  1. Great story 🙂

  2. So you started your Oak Park Avenue Crawl at the age of 13? Before you could even get into the bar you were walking the streets… impressive.

  3. Glad I could save you a few hundred dollars in therapy pointing that out for you haha.

  4. Commando Says:

    love it! Are you sure you werent creepin in peoples houses looking for little girls having slumber parties??? That happened to my gfs and me when we were about 6. Coinsciedently in the same neighborhood!!!!

  5. I would bet my life that it was Riv.

Leave a Reply

