“Pain is temporary, Quitting lasts forever” – Lance Armstrong

I got this quote over twitter…When I think about my father, probably one of the greatest things he instilled in me is a feeling of I should never quit. I should keep striving, even through failure to keep trying to bang out something. That’s probably the #1 reason I’m still here today, alive.

I keep trying. When I fucked up, went to jail, I didn’t just wallow in the mire of my life, I kept forging ahead. I got my Computer Science degree. When I lose jobs due to layoffs or any other reasons, I keep going, and sometimes I land on my feet. I’m not saying my life is all roses, and a bowl of cherries. For every inch of ground I gained in my life, I have crawled it.

There is alot of things I have to accomplish in life, and lately I think I’ve been settling for the status quo. I’ve been spinning my wheels in the mud so to speak,  I’m worried about being doomed to taking care of my parents, worried about losing my job, worried about the fact that I’m getting older, etc , etc.

Once in awhile, I gotta kick myself in my own ass. I must remind myself that to get what you want in life, you must work for it, and anything that is worth having is worth the work. I want the house with the white picket fence, I want my own family, I want the Cadillac in the driveway, but no ones going to hand it to me.

 What I’m trying to say, yeah your life might suck, but you gotta hang in there, keep pushing on…and one day you just make it to where you need to be.  There’s an old Japanese proverb, “Fall down 7 times, get up 8”

One Response to ““Pain is temporary, Quitting lasts forever” – Lance Armstrong”

  1. Instead of Japanese proverbs, I like to think of something Batman’s dad said: “Why do we fall, Bruce? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.”

Leave a Reply

