Tuesday Not-Hangover

I can’t compete with River’s weekends, but I’ll try.

Usually, the husband and I are boring people, because we have a two-and-a-half-year-old and we just sit around on the weekends and go to the park and other baby stuff.  But this weekend, we were going to a wedding.  Ooh la la.

Believe it or not, going to one event is an insane amount of prep, and I don’t mean hair.  First, we had to get his parents to come down to babysit – which meant we had to sanitize the house.

The project to sanitize the house was going well until the kid got sick.  When I say sick, I mean projectile vomit all over the place, at which point I say something stupid like “it’s ok to throw up on mommy” and my kid says “get paper towel.”  It’s gonna take more than a paper towel.

Things we don’t tell the grandparents: “oh, the kid threw up right there.  On the sofa.  Where you’re sitting.”  These things are on a need-to-know basis, and nobody needs to know.

As for weddings in Texas: they just shouldn’t occur in the summer.  Not even indoors.  It’s just too damn hot to be in a room, even an air-conditioned room, with a bunch of other people.  Hell, by the time I got to the wedding, my hair looked like this:

A totally accurate artist representation

Good thing I wasn’t an “important” guest, so there are few pictures memorializing the humidity fail.

And that was my weekend.

One Response to “Tuesday Not-Hangover”

  1. Lol, you are a great artist. Sorry the baby was vomiting a lot. I had that this spring with my 8 year old. He was throwing up, but stopped and told me he felt great. I asked over and over if ge was fine and he said yes. I was like, great we can go out and get lunch. On the way to Subway he vomited without warning in my car over and over again. I’ll never do that again. If they are suck, we stay out my car.

Leave a Reply

