Gastric Bypass

Doctor is talking to me about getting a Gastric Bypass Surgery. I have some minor health issues, like my sugars are a bit high, blood pressure is normal and such, but he said as I age the problems are going to get worst.

He said if I get this surgery, all those things will go away, but I wonder will I be trading in one set of problems for another.

An old friend I heard through the grape vine had the surgery 2 years ago. He weighed 381, I weigh bout 360, and now he weighs 240, right where I want to be. This old friend of mine was pretty much like me, loved to drink, and eat. Party animal to the extreme. Said it was the best decision of his life to do.  Then again I hear horror stories, bad ones.

Here’s my problem though, being a big guy is my essence of who I am. That guy who drank more, ate, more, took more punishment then the next guy. That’s who River is. Not that being around 250 is small by any means. It’s just that when something is at the core of your being, how do you change that. Can I change that.

Also is it the cowards way out, a cheat if you will. I can lose weight I done it. I hit some sort of plateau, but if I worked really hard could I lose the weight I need. Do I want to gamble with that. These are the things I have to think through the next few months, and it weighs heavily upon me.

3 Responses to “Gastric Bypass”

  1. I’ve heard that many “fat guy” comedians have a similar mindset. Chris Farley for example was a dude that enjoyed being viewed as over the top in appearance and lifestyle just like his characters portrayed on screen. He was afraid that if he were to lose weight and clean himself up, his audience would be disappointed. I don’t know. I would rather have a living and somewhat healthier Chris Farley than a drunken fat and dead Chris Farley.

  2. It’s a pretty common reaction, all in all. When I quite smoking, one of the biggest things I had to tackle was getting myself to understand that I was no longer a smoker. I wasn’t the guy that lit up after dinner, or slipped out at parties to have a smoke, or the guy the snuck in a few extra breaks a day.

    It boils down to changing your identity, which is hard no matter what. I would encourage you to think about it in terms of health, though. I enjoyed being a smoker, I enjoyed the imagery and the the identity it brought. But it wasn’t healthy, so I had to put an end to it.

    As for whether to do the surgery or natrually… that’s up to you. There are benefits on both sides of the discussion. If you can coommit fully to losing weight by going to th gym 3+ times a week and portion control and calorie reduction, that’s the ideal, but that just isn’t realistic for some people these days so the surgery is another option.

  3. “That guy who…, took more punishment then the next guy”

    I just want to say, Rivs, that loosing weight and keeping it off is a huge challenge. Scary blogged about it back in April – it’s a good read if you get the chance. My opinion is that it’s easy to NOT take up and conquer this challenge… and if it’s one you choose to take on, you can count on support from me :p

Leave a Reply

