White Chocolate

I was just going to do just my friends in this series of posts, but then I thought long and hard about it there is some family that deserve their own post. My family is my family, and I hold them in higher regard then most of my friends. The blood that flows in my veins, flows in theirs.  They have always been there for me. I hope I have always been there for them.  I love all my cousins, but one is more like a brother to me.  That man is White Chocolate, or WC for short. WC is my father’s brother’s child, he is one year younger then me. Since my earliest memories we have always been close. There is a picture of us when we were 5 and 6 respectively, we were sitting at a kitchen table giving each other a hug. That picture sums everything up to me anyway.

So many memories it would take me years to list them all. I remember finding playboys in a field near his house, or playing Monopoly with my Grandparents when WC caught my grandfather cheating. I thought WC was going to have a heartattack. I remember doing nothing on Shabbos, letting our phones ring and letting the world pass us by. I remember sharing a sack of White Castles listening to Tiny Dancer because it reminded WC of someone. I can go on and on, but there are a few memories that probably puts everything nicely.

We were at a bar, and WC was in an heated argument with a friend of mine who happened to be Asian. A girl I liked at the time told me I should do something. I did, I told my Asian friend, “Right or wrong, this stops now. This man is my cousin, and you lay one hand on him I will hurt you very badly. I do not care if he is right or wrong, you will not lay one hand on him. ”  The girl whom I liked yelled at me, “How can you take your cousins side, he was wrong. ”  My reply was, “If he is wrong I will tell him he was, but no one on this earth lays a hand on him while I am near, and I still draw breath.”  That was the end of the conversation.

Another story that tells the tale of the tape you will. Is one time I got a flat tire on I-57. I called everyone on my phone list, which in those days wasn’t that big. One man answered, and came out to help me. That man was WC. He could of given me “The circle gets the square”, which in our code is put on ignore. He didn’t he drove out to me with a four way tire iron, and in the end I didn’t really need him, a cop had one when he pulled up…but WC was there for me, and I will always be there for him.

Sure we had our arguments, I remember he spazzed out on me cause I have a habit of leaving cabinet doors open, so next day I opened them all and left. We just laughed about it. Those arguments are very few, and far between though.  

WC has always been there, even in my darkest moment of life. He was one of the people that pulled the gun away from me when I wanted to end it all. He was there to help rebuild my life. Lately though he’s been ignoring me, and it’s like a knife twisting in my heart. I don’t know why he is, if I did something wrong I would rip out my own liver at his request. If he doesn’t want me in his life any longer, that is his right…but I want him to know I love him, and I will always….always be there for him no matter what.

One Response to “White Chocolate”

  1. He’s probably still pissed about the cabinet thing. I don’t blame him. That is one of my pet peeves too. That and putting the toilet paper roll on the wrong way… The flap should ALWAYS be over the top.

Leave a Reply

