End of an Era

All thing change, it’s the nature of things. Even though I dislike change, I realize there is nothing I can do to stop it. So I deal with change with this grudgingly forced stoicism. My parents are growing older, and they are in a time in their life they will lean on me more for support. My brother is doing his own thing more. As for me, I have loved and lost.

All of things sadden me just a tad, but one thing that saddens me is my best friend Jackass is moving off of Oak Park Avenue or OPA. It’s the downtown district of my hometown Tinley Park. Though I am very happy for my friend, who is moving on with his life. There is a part of me that is sad, not because I no longer will have a base of operations on OPA, but it’s the final death knell for the end of this era.

No matter how old i get I will always remember the great times spent there. Times like boxing with Hulk Gloves, Jackass swing a bat screaming, “Joe Fucking DiMaggio”, Waking up finding a pot near me, or writing all over me, Chilling with my friends there, pregaming for Bears games. I can go on, and on.  I think the times I cherish the most is when two friend sit and drink on the park bench, and talk about their problems.

I wanted to thank Jackass for his generosity, and all the laughs, not that this is an end, but it is a new chapter, and I’m sure we’ll have a lot of laughs still, but those days in the past were a little simpler, or a little more care free. I think Bob Hope said it best though, “Thanks for the Memories”

Leave a Reply

