Archive for February 4, 2009

To my friends

Posted in General Life on February 4, 2009 by theeriver

I just found out some friends lost their father. If there was something I could say to ease their pain I would. I will not mention names, but they know who they are, and that my heart is with them. I had the honor to meet the man at my friends bachelors party, laughing, joking, and just having fun.  He was a good man, and the world is a darker place.

The Future of Antivirus.

Posted in Barlife, River with tags , on February 4, 2009 by theeriver

Well thats where I was yesterday at a Seminar hosted by Symantec, ya know the makers of Norton Antivirus.  Learning all sorts of things about the future of Antivirus, and Endpoint Security, plus getting free pizza.I’m sure everyone here is just dying to learn about how to whitelist applications, or how Altiris CMDB makes asset management so much more easier.  Alas this blog is just way to short on time to elaborate on all the intricacies of such endeavors, so I must digress.

One thing I want to touch on is that I promised myself to quit drinking so much, and try to stay away from the bars. The crux of the problem is that my friends have too many functions that involve drinking.  Sure I can probably attend the event, or function and drink diet cokes, but then the reaction is usually not a bad one but a let down.  I know I’m like that, when someone I know isn’t drinking. I’m let down a little.  How do I cut out the drinking, and not offend anyone.  It’s a dilemma I’m sure. Then again I know in 2010 I most likely will be moving back north, so maybe I will just enjoy my time with my friends while I still can.  It just brings me down a little that I’m so ensconced with this culture of drinking. Do my friends and me do anything that ever doesn’t involve drinking, I don’t think so.  Sometimes I wonder if the booze wasn’t there, would my friends be there?